In My Runner’s Mind

June 10, 2011

I ran with no expectations, no hurry, intent on enjoying the beautiful cool morning.  No thinking about heavy legs, passing out, heat exhaustion or wedgies. My feet switched to auto pilot and my mind slipped into deep subconsciousness where my thoughts escaped to the ideal.

In my Runner’s mind…

  • Creativity abounds and there’s no end to my brilliance
  • I am a rock star holding my own with Axle Rose, Rob Thomas and Lady Gaga
  • I am an artistic marvel working colorful glass sculptures with ease, fluidity, and no cracks
  • I am a fit size 6 who looks fabulous in anything
  • I am a kitchen diva creating culinary masterpieces with fridge leftovers
  • I am a psycho analyst answering the never ending question…why?
  • I am a powerful athlete crossing the finish line in record time
  • I am sharp with wit and unafraid to confront those who are disrespectful with exactly what I think, at exactly the right time, with utmost intelligence
  • I am independent, strong, tireless, always in a good mood and never absent minded.

Reality creeped back into my legs, chest and head.  But my mind was clear, relaxed, unhurried, content to face the day, and happy that I just did it.

Leave a comment